PennWest California Reviews | GradReports (2023)

Student & Graduate Reviews

Mrs. J.

  • Reviewed: 3/12/2015
  • Degree: Special Education
  • Graduation Year: 2012

"I have found Cal. U. to be an amazing University. When I entered my classroom, I felt prepared. I was told that public schools look for Cal. U. graduates. I am so pleased with my undergrad that I am looking to continue my grad studies at Cal. U. as well. My son is currently a student and he will be a 3rd generation Cal. U graduate."

Jeremy L.

  • Reviewed: 3/12/2015
  • Degree: Teaching
  • Graduation Year: 2017

"I have not even begun this program yet, but have been impressed with the level of communication I've encountered concerning the application process. It has been quite some time since I've done this -- and for some of us "old-timers" this can be a confusing process (!) and the staff has been very helpful so far! I am looking forward to the program..."

Jamie B

  • Reviewed: 3/12/2015
  • Degree: Conflict Resolution
  • Graduation Year: 2017

"Professor are helpful and don't mind helping out students. The campus is nice and clean. The food is pretty good. However the construction can make t a little confusing to get around. Sometimes the education department can be a little disorganized, but over all they do a good job."

Yoshihiko Endo

  • Reviewed: 3/10/2015
  • Degree: Psychology
  • Graduation Year: 2013

"Hello, I'm Y.E., a fitness trainer in japan. I earned my master's degree of exercise science through CALU's Global Online. Programs are delivered in various forms such as discussion with your classmates and professors, audio files, power point presentation ... etc. Before the start of first semester, my biggest concern was that my first language is not English, however my professors and classmates kindly helped me to adapt to the new learning environment. I'm still struggling with the language difference, but one thing for sure is that I'm still learning everyday. The best point about CALU Global Online is that you will be able to interact with classmates with unique backgrounds and various expertize from all over the world, besides, professors and school staffs are enthusiastic, kind, and friendly. I would like to highly recommend CALU for prespective students. CALU is the best of the bests !"

"I am currently enrolled at CalU looking to and will eventually obtain my Masters of Science degree with an emphasis on Rehabilitation Sciences. I am very pleased with this university, the education track provided, the instructors/professors, and most importantly the Office of Web-Based Programs (other adminstratived personnel as well). From the start of my experience everything has been great; the office staff has helped develop a wonderful solution to allow me to obtain my Masters in a timely fashion while working, being married, and parenting three children. They've been very good at providing assistance when time comes for enrolling in upcoming classes. They've been very friendly when dealing with inquiries about class direction, tuition, and in circumstance when we've had to speak in person on the phone. The material within the educational track is exciting, applicable, and challenging yet easy to absorb. This is in part due to the class and activity structure, it is very conducive to gaining knowlege. I've recently returned to the schooling after 15 years of working, and everything about CalU and its staff has made me feel comfortable about learing in the Online environment. Please seriously consider giving CalU the opportunity to educate you for the future."

Karmyn

  • Reviewed: 8/5/2014
  • Degree: Criminal Justice
  • Graduation Year: 2014

"Probably since January I have been doing my research for what school I want to go to, and of course it is not the easiest decision to make because you also have to think of the future with employment. Since I started in January I have been trying to find the right school that best fits my needs for what I am doing currently, which is working full time in the A.M., so night classes is just out of the question. When I started looking more into online schools, (being that I took my masters degree online from Calu of Pa) I loved every minute there, what I have learned about online school is that it takes up a lot of time patients, you have to teach yourself, but yes your professors are there to guide you. I also had the professors for Undergrad as well, so I was not completely in the dark. There were so many choices to choose from when it comes to online schools and in the end Walden was the best choice, because of employment, some jobs WILL NOT except UoP, Kaplan University, etc. So far with signing up with Walden University my enrollment advisor has been great so far, and has emailed me back in a timely manner. Now I have been reading these reviews and I could not put my finger on why everyone is telling people to run from Walden University and then it dawned on me that, most people have never done an online class before and do not know what to expect or what to do. Most of the time you are doing the work yourself with reading, papers, tests, and discussions, the professor is there only for back up, grading papers and giving you feedback. I feel that most of the reviews want an easy ride just to move up in the world and get more money, but you get what you put in. In the end, if you have never done online classes before (more than 3 to gain experience) I would say to take some classes BEFORE you do your masters and or PhD online at Walden because it will not be a cake walk. Also I feel like I need to put this in that I am a real girl from Pittsburgh, Pa and I am not pulling anyone’s leg."

Tricia

  • Reviewed: 11/15/2013
  • Degree: Liberal Studies
  • Graduation Year: 2013

"I thought that this program was thorough. A few of the classes were just okay but overall, I feel that I learned a lot from the program and it prepared me for a future in the field. At times I was frustrated with the caliber of other students in the cohort but the teachers were great. I feel that the program motivated me through challenging course work and I feel that writing papers and discussions contributed to my knowledge. I would recommend this school."

Anonymous

  • Reviewed: 8/5/2013
  • Degree: Political Science
  • Graduation Year: 2011

"Tell us about your college experience.I was to young to understand what was going on. Didnt make mature decisions.What advice can you offer other students?Get a trade, a craft, or pay for school. Do not take out loans for school."

Shannon Riley

  • Reviewed: 5/17/2013
  • Degree: Counseling
  • Graduation Year: 2015

"The professors in my program are intelligent, accessible, and willing to help. The campus is beautiful, and the surrounding area has a wide variety of activities. I love this school."

Lindsey Stalnaker

  • Reviewed: 1/31/2013
  • Degree: Communications (Speech Pathology)
  • Graduation Year: 2014

"One pro of my graduate program is that it is highly competitive. One con of my graduate program is that I am having to pay out-of-state tuition, which is very difficult."

Jessica

  • Reviewed: 9/12/2012
  • Degree:
  • Graduation Year:

"There is nothing good to be said about this university, except that some of the professors are truly amazing and wonderful at teaching. They work with what little equipment and budget they have to try to make a good experience for students, but it's hard because this school doesn't care about academics.There are also many professors who are not qualified to teach and shouldn't be. This school is a huge scam. They see to it that it's extremely difficult to graduate in four years, and they won't work with you or give you any help if you are trying to graduate in a reasonable amount of time. I've been here for five years and trying to get my degree has been an absolute nightmare. Tuition is always going up but classrooms are ill equipped and in buildings that haven't been renovated or updated since the 60's.All the money goes to things like the gym, the convocation center, the parking garage, the proposed new student union, but nothing goes towards improving academic buildings or buying new equipment. Housing in the town is awful.If you can't get into the dorms, you can get ripped off by vulcan village, or you can get ripped off by the shady landlords in town. I've never had pleasant dealings with any landlords in California. This school is absolutely terrible. It may be cheaper than some but it is definitely NOT worth it. Do yourself a favor and don't come here."

Tim

  • Reviewed: 5/30/2012
  • Degree:
  • Graduation Year: 2009

"I earned my M.S. degree in Exercise Science and Health Promotion in 2009. You will work for your degree at CALU. However, one will learn a lot and can apply what they learn in their classes to their career in a short span of time. Out of 10 classes in the M.S. program, there was no group assignments, all the tests were online (you are timed on these tests), and no BS. The degree can be earned in one year. However, be prepared to work and study hard."

Marcy

  • Reviewed: 11/9/2010
  • Degree:
  • Graduation Year:

"By far the best educational experience has been through California University of Pennsylvania's global online program. The professor's were knowledgable in their fields, most having held careers in the fields they taught.The course requirements were rigorous. I was obtaining a degree in a field I had worked in for nearly 20 years and actually learned something new and was challenged by the curriculum. The online format, available resources and tools were all exceptional and contributed to enhancing the learning experience.There were no easy grades to be had in this program. I found that I had to work harder for the grades I obtained in the online format than in a traditional classroom setting. While a traditional class is only 50 minutes each week. I found myself spending 9-12 hours per week and each course.The advisors were actual advisors not telemarketers. When I started researching online schools, I was hounded by telemarketers who only wanted to enroll me and get my money. CALU's advisors sent me the information I requested, answered my questions promptly and never, ever made me feel like I was a pocket with money. Rather they treated me with courtesy and respect, like I was an actual student before I even enrolled. Once I enrolled, they still treated me with courtesy and respect. They addressed any concerns and were professional and helpful in every way.There is absolutely nothing I can criticize about this school or the programs taught. That is not to say that my entire experience was without incident. I can say that every issue or problem I had was promptly addressed and resolved.California University is an excellent school. I highly recommend this school to everyone."

Carlo Mabilog

  • Reviewed: 6/28/2010
  • Degree:
  • Graduation Year:

"I received my Master of Science in Exercise Science and Health Promotion with concentration in Rehabilitation Science in 2007 and have successfully completed the program in 1 year of full-time course work.The assignments and the threaded discussions were rigorous. Online learning tools were made available via the library for articles and professional publications. The professors were very helpful and flexible. Overall, I enjoyed my education with CAL-U. It was definitely a great experience."

Anonymous

  • Reviewed: 5/31/2010
  • Degree:
  • Graduation Year:

"I am in my last semester in an online masters program at CALU. I have absolutely loved this school and program. The faculty has been great to work with. I have never been to Pennsylvania in my life but I have been able to attend their school and I feel like I have received a quality education.I loved the online format that allowed me to "go" to school at anytime of the day or night. I work full time so this has been a real benefit. I interacted with students from other areas of the country and learned about their teaching experiences. I would suggest this school to anyone that wants to attend school online for an affordable price."

Annoynomous

  • Reviewed: 7/14/2009
  • Degree:
  • Graduation Year:

"I transferred to cal for my sophomore year and have been very happy here. I've found the professors in my major to be very knowledgeable and always very encouraging. I'm a graphic design/studio art major by the way. There's a pretty good party scene if that's your thing, if not there are always things to do and events happening on campus. There isn't much in the town, it's small but when school is in, there is never lack of things to do...Pitt trips are always fun as well. Housing can be an issue sometimes. If you can't get into the dorms, there is vulcan village but I wouldn't recommend it if you don't have a car. The bus can be very unreliable and it stops running at 11, which was very inconvenient. I moved into an apartment in town and it's pretty nice. The majority of the town consists of college apartments. If you are a freshman, you shouldn't have a problem with housing. Like any college it has it's pros and cons. Your college experience really is what you make it and I am happy with my decision. It's easy to make friends, the campus is beautiful, and the academic programs are very good."

Annoynomous

  • Reviewed: 7/14/2009
  • Degree:
  • Graduation Year:

"It has been several years and a lot has changed since I went there. Great school if you are looking for a small town environment and looking to know everyone on campus by the end of your first year. Very relaxing environment. I ended up transferring to Universality of Pittsburgh."

Viktor

  • Reviewed: 6/4/2008
  • Degree:
  • Graduation Year:

"Very positive experience. Worked around my schedule and my location. Employs the use of virtual classroom for an experience just like a traditional classroom environment provides.A community of students and faculty will work online and work together as if they are in a classroom. This virtual community, known as a cohort, created a challenging and exciting experience. My overall experience was every bit as rewarding as if I went to a traditional college."

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Patricia Veum II

Last Updated: 09/20/2022

Views: 5693

Rating: 4.3 / 5 (64 voted)

Reviews: 87% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Patricia Veum II

Birthday: 1994-12-16

Address: 2064 Little Summit, Goldieton, MS 97651-0862

Phone: +6873952696715

Job: Principal Officer

Hobby: Rafting, Cabaret, Candle making, Jigsaw puzzles, Inline skating, Magic, Graffiti

Introduction: My name is Patricia Veum II, I am a vast, combative, smiling, famous, inexpensive, zealous, sparkling person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.